The Pilferer

Apparently, we have thief(-ves) in the students’ hostel. Just this afternoon, two laptops went missing. That’s a total of four laptops which were stolen in the past eight months.

Seriously, how bad can our luck be? Dahlah we are the very few people left without permanent residences(about 40 out of 170 students in our batch), we pay the highest rent but with the worse facilities, our hostel is located farthest from the ‘campus’. And then this.

For the three years I’ve been in Moscow, this is the first time I’ve heard of so Malaysian students losing their stuff in such short period of time. And for them to lose their laptops! Damn those people from the low-life-&-low-income group! Or those idiots who don’t even have an income! If you have time to go to each room to see if we’re not around and then proceed to steal our stuff, why not look for a job? Don’t tell me bullcrap like ‘it’s hard to look for jobs due to the economy slowdown’ or ‘I tried but had no luck’. If you channeled your determination to steal to looking for jobs, I see no reason why you won’t be employed.

You don’t own a degree/diploma? Learn a skill then! Hairdressers here make a living from the tips they get, not their salary. You can tell when they each get like RM200 a day from clients’ tips. RM200 a day! I so feel like quiting med school now.

Anyway, my point is, things are getting worse in my current hostel, and I’m glad that I’ve gotten a place in one of the hostels my Uni owns. No more living like a nomad, and definitely much safer than this shithole!

All I need to do now is to start packing my stuff and move them to my new hostel before my laptop goes missing. And come to think of it, I must be some lucky shit because everyone in my block has gotten our respective places in the permanent hostel, two of them already moved out, whereas me and the other blockmate spent the night in that hostel last night. The guy could’ve broken-in to our block and steal our stuffs if he wanted to and no one will be there to stop him!

And yes, the damned thief is a guy. I know because the girls said he entered their rooms one by one and pretended to look for someone, apologise for entering the wrong room, and then leave. What a retarded way to steal.

“Hello, is there anyone? Yes? OMG I got the wrong room I’m so sorry bye! No? Thanks for your laptop then.”

But how did he manage to steal the laptops if he did not break-in?

Apparently, the victims were asleep. One of the girl was napping and when she heard the room door opened, she thought it was her roommate who had returned from classes, so she didn’t bother and continued sleeping. Turns out, it was the thief. In her room. When she’s there!

?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!

And the funniest part is, the thief did not realise there was a person in the room on the bed. He must be half-blind or something.

Although the girls have lodged a police report later, no action seemed to be taken, even though we had witnesses. Not even a face sketch. It was the same as the previous burglary(does it count as one if the victim is in the room when the incident took place?). No one seems to give a damn about anything/anyone, especially foreigners. That’s Russia for you!

Nonetheless, I really feel sorry for the girls. These incidents wouldn’t have happened if we were given permanent hostels in the first place.

Damn, with things like this happening here, I have to move to my new residence ASAP. But I won’t be able to bring my IKEA’s Sultan mattress and my refrigerator over! Comfort or safety? I gotta choose.

~ by vic on April 9, 2009.

Leave a comment